On Music

Originally, I had planned on posting twice a week.

Every week.

As you can probably see, that hasn’t worked out…

This writing life has a way of taking me on an upside-down roller-coaster ride. Daily. And even though it’s crazy, I’m having too much fun to get off.

Thankfully, I’m taking part in plenty of non writing-related activities, too.  Especially those pertaining to music.

Every week I attend two orchestra rehearsals, take violin and cello lessons, teach five students, and volunteer to teach classes for the local youth orchestra. Plus, I have my own music to practice and I’m part of the worship team for my church’s young adult group.

Whew! It’s a pretty crazy schedule, especially since I recently added another venture to my plate–I’ll write more about that soon…

But I wouldn’t trade my busy, music-and-writing filled life for the world. Especially not the music part.

I’ve played the violin for well over half my life and I have had some amazing opportunities to share my passion for music with others. Music has the ability to soothe, uplift, and inspire. I’m thrilled that God blessed me with a talent that has the ability to impact so many people.

God has also used music to bless and inspire me. I am probably one of the only people I know who has to have the radio on 24/7. Set to the same station–KLOVE, of course. And when I’m not around a radio, you can bet that I have Spotify streaming from my iPad or laptop…

I’m especially fond of listening to music while I write. I make a different playlist for every book with songs handpicked to fit the mood of my story. These songs range from the latest Christian hits to obscure oldies from my mom’s childhood…and I have been known to throw in a classical piece now and then, too 🙂

No matter where I am or what I’m doing, I love to be surrounded with music. Thankfully, I am blessed to be able to live my dream by teaching music lessons, playing music, and–best of all–listening to music!

What about you? How does music inspire you? What is your all-time favorite song and what makes it special?

BTW–I would tell you my favorite song but it’s impossible for me to pick only one. If I had to pick…maybe “Life is Beautiful” by The Afters…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

