On Being Creative

Happy Monday!  Despite the dreaded Daylight Saving time change, I’m excited for the week ahead.

I have been working through my first “official” round of edits with the assistance of the amazing freelance editor Jenny Mertes and, while it’s been a lot of fun, it has also been threatening to drain my creative juices.17309489_456913348033345_4281930022837553457_n

Thankfully, I was able to take a break from the craziness of editing this morning, when I explored several other ways to express my creativity.

First, I tried my hand at chalk art…I love quotes and I love drawing, so this large-scale calligraphy adventure was a great way to stretch my artistic abilities.

It took me a while to decide which quote to write on the chalkboard, but I eventually chose “find joy in the journey” because I’ve been reminded to do just that as I experience the exhilaration of editing a novel.

Later, for lunch, my mom and I went head-to-head in a burger challenge for lunch…can you pick the winner?

17156007_456980434693303_8355235970908279928_n
The Salsa Burger: Burger meat mixed with black beans, red onion, jalapeño, lime juice, and cilantro; topped with an avocado-cilantro crema and fresh pico de gallo

OR…

17264664_456980428026637_2905818307108150340_n
The Cowboy Crunch Burger: Burger meat mixed with BBQ potato chips, caramelized onion, brown sugar, sweet/spicy pickles, and white cheddar cheese; topped with candied bacon, frizzled onions, more white cheddar, and a BBQ-and-pickle infused mayo

 

Yum! Anyways, all that being said, it’s surprisingly easy to find ways to be creative, no matter the circumstances. And, after lunch, I was inspired to work extra-hard on my edits for the rest of the day.

Even if you don’t have time to experiment with chalk or make a mess in the kitchen, you can still stretch your creative muscles today. Turn on your favorite tunes and dance around the living room, surf Pinterest for a new recipe to try this weekend, or doodle on a scrap of paper.

Now it’s your turn–how will you find a way to express your creativity in the coming week?

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.

Colossians 3:23-24

 

 

3 thoughts on “On Being Creative

  1. Nice job Taylor!!! I like to be creative making cards with stamps and ink pads. I also like using my colored pen and pencil sets to color on them or write in them. I still enjoy sending cards in the mail!📫

    Like

Leave a Reply

